Rights of the People
Citizens of a Founded Republican Government, Working Towards Retaining Our Great Nation. Rights of the People
Navigation Bar Grades K-2 Grades 3-5 Grades 6-8 Grades 9-12 Parents and Teachers Home
Commonwealths & Territories
of the United States of America
Commonwealths and Territories of the United States Washington, D.C. Puerto Rico Virgin Islands Guam Northern Mariana Islands American Samoa
  • American Samoa, Guam, and the Virgin Islands are all territories of the United States. Washington, D.C. and the Northern Mariana Islands are commonwealths. Puerto Rico was once a territory, but is now a commonwealth.

  • Territories and commonwealths are partially self-governing areas that have not been granted statehood. The indigenous peoples of these areas are citizens of the United States.

  • These areas may have one non-voting delegate in the House of Representatives


HelpHomeBack to the Map
RightsOfThePeople.com  "Of the People, By the People, For the People"
Site Design, Layout and Programming by: One-Serve.com "Design Excellence"